Skip to Content
Skip to Navigation

Sidney Awards

For more than fifty years, the Sidney Hillman Foundation has awarded the Hillman prizes, which are among the most prestigious honors in journalism. In 2009, the foundation inaugurated the Sidney, a monthly award for an outstanding piece of socially-conscious journalism. We are looking for investigative work that fosters social and economic justice. Make a nomination.

May, 2013
Manik, Greenhouse, and Yardley

Julfikar Ali Manik, Steven Greenhouse, and Jim Yardley win the May Sidney Award for their coverage of the Rana Plaza factory collapse in Bangladesh, an industrial accident that claimed more than 1100 lives and focused world attention on working conditions in the garment industry. 

April, 2013
Joe and Harry Gantz

Joe and Harry Gantz win the April Sidney Award for American Winter, an HBO documentary that follows eight Portland, Oregon-area families struggling to survive the winter of 2011/2012 in the grip of the Great Recession.

Joe Gantz
Harry Gantz
March, 2013
Steven Brill
Time Magazine

Steven Brill wins the March Sidney Award for explanatory reporting on why our medical bills are so high.

Steven Brill
February, 2013
Bob Ortega
Arizona Republic

Bob Ortega of the Arizona Republic won the February Sidney Award for exposing an unreliable HPV test.

Bob Ortega headshot
January, 2013
Leslie Patton
Bloomberg News

Leslie Patton of Bloomberg News won the January Sidney Award for a "tale of two McDonald's"--a profile of the fast food giant as seen by its CEO and a fry cook. 

December, 2012
Josh Eidelson
The Nation

Josh Eidelson of The Nation won the December Sidney Award for his coverage of the historic Black Friday strike at Walmart and the ongoing strike wave moving through Walmart’s supply chain.

Josh Eidelson
November, 2012
Jina Moore
Christian Science Monitor

Jina Moore, regular contributor to the Christian Science Monitor, wins the November Sidney Award for Below The Line: Poverty In America, a portrait of poverty as it is measured by official statistics and lived by real people.

Jina Moore
October, 2012
Sasha Chavkin, Anna Maria Barry-Jester and Ronnie Greene
The Center for Public Integrity

Sasha Chavkin, Anna Maria Barry-Jester and Ronnie Greene of the Center for Public Integrity win the October Sidney Award for “Mystery in the Fields,” an international investigation into a mystery kidney disease killing young farmworkers in India, Sri Lanka, and Central America.

Sasha Chavkin
 Anna Maria Barry-Jester
Ronnie Greene
September, 2012
Erich Schwartzel and Julia Rendleman
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

Erich Schwartzel and Julia Rendleman of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette win the September Sidney Award for “Fouled Waters,” a 3-month investigation into a mysterious blight on the water supply of The Woodlands, a small Pennsylvania town surrounded by natural gas wells just 40 minutes north of Pittsburgh.

Erich Schwartzel
Julia Rendleman
August, 2012
Gerard Ryle and Kate Willson
International Consortium of Investigative Journalists

A 13-journalist team led by International Consortium of Investigative Journalists Director Gerard Ryle and ICIJ reporter Kate Willson won the August Sidney Award for “Skin and Bone,” a sweeping investigation of the largely unregulated global trade in human tissues.

Gerard Ryle
Kate Willson

Certificate designed by Edward Sorel

The Sidney is awarded monthly to a piece published in an American magazine, newspaper, on a news site, or a blog. Television and radio broadcasts by an American news outlet are also eligible, as are published photography series.

Deadlines are the last day of each month. The piece must have been published in the month preceding the deadline. In the case of magazines, please nominate according to the issue date on the publication, not when it first appeared.

Nominations are accepted for one's own work, or for someone else's.

The Foundation will announce a winner on the second Wednesday of each month. Recipients will be awarded $500, a bottle of union-made wine, and a certificate designed especially for the Sidney by New Yorker cartoonist, Edward Sorel.

If you wish to nominate yourself or a piece by anyone else, please click here for our nomination form.If you have any further questions about the nomination process, please send your inquiry to