Skip to Content
Skip to Navigation

The Hillman Prize Previous Honorees

Click on a column heading to sort the list
Year Category Honoree Titlesort icon Publisher/Airer Winner's Page
1976 Book Richard Kluger Simple Justice
1978 Magazine Tracy Kidder Soldiers of Misfortune The Atlantic Monthly
1962 Magazine Margaret Parton Sometimes Life Just Happens Ladies Home Journal
1973 Book Alexamder Solzhenitsyn Special Award
1978 Newspaper I . F. Stone Special Award
1980 Broadcast MacNeil-Lehrer Report Special award for continued excellence in television journalism
1974 Broadcast WNET/13 Special Award for outstanding programming WNET
1954 Magazine The Progressive special issue on Senator McCarthy (special award) The Progressive
2004 Broadcast Brett Shipp, Mark Smith, and Kraig Kirchem State of Denial WFAA-TV Go
2001 Book Jack Metzgar Striking Steel Go
1962 Broadcast Warren Wallace Superfluous People WCBS-TV, New York
1974 Book Noel Mostert Supership
1958 Broadcast Irving Gitlin Supervision of CBS Unit One, particularly the programs "Who Killed Michael Farmer" and " P.O W.- A Study in Survival" CBS-TV
2012 Opinion & Analysis Ta-Nehisi Coates Ta-Nehisi Coates The Atlantic Go
2007 Blog Sam Rosenfeld, Web editor, Ann Friedman, Web deputy editor , Garance Franke-Ruta, Ezra Klein, and Matthew Yglesias, bloggers Tapped The American Prospect Go
1958 Book John Kenneth Galbraith The Affluent Society
1966 Book Joseph P. Lyford The Airtight Cage
1985 Newspaper Series Writers The American Millstone Chicago Tribune
2013 Book Tracie McMillan The American Way of Eating: Undercover at Walmart, Applebee’s, Farm Fields and the Dinner Table Scribner Go
1969 Newspaper William J. Eaton The Appearance of Impropriety Chicago Daily News
2009 Book Steven Greenhouse The Big Squeeze Knopf Go
1963 Magazine Arnold Hano The Burned Out Americans Saga Magazine
1990 Book Andrew Revkin The Burning Season
1985 Magazine Daniel Ford The Button The New Yorker
1975 Book E. J. Kahn, Jr. The China Hands